Sonnet for the Late Bloomers

image

The lilies’ trumpets, long since fallen silent,
Their substance blended with the soil below,
Both daffodils and crocus are dim pictures,
As are all the early blooms we sowed.
Their complex habits, needy roots and foliage
Demanded our attention for a while
And we admired their colors and their contrasts
With memories of snow in drifts and piles.
But now come, in late summer’s final glory,
The smaller and less flashy flowering things–
Their colors mostly whites, their blossoms tiny,
Their sweetest honey feeds the lightest wings.
Therefore, though we recall with joy the past,
The simplest, dearest blooms come at the last.

image

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sonnet for the Late Bloomers

  1. rita kowats says:

    I love its elegance, Jane. The Bard is whispering in my ear, “Couldn’t have said it better myself.”

    I so hope you don’t have to endure an endless polar freeze again this winter.

  2. janemwoodman says:

    Thanks, Rita. I do love the Shakespearean sonnet form! But I love the winter, too. It’s the ceaseless changing.. .

So what do you think?