Storms (sonnet)

It’s this-the flooding sky and darkened noon
That turns the mind and heart to inward sight,
The deepening nimbus banks turn sun to moon
As saturated thoughts drown outward light.
This was the mood, the world I found most close,
Most dear when I first learned my own true mind,
This outward mirror of the lachrymose,
This comfortable Nature was most kind.
Through decades past and even still I love
To watch and hear such storms, hail, winds that blow
Till branches break and lightning from above
Rips through black clouds to shock the world below.
But I love better Nature’s best alarms
Since I lie listening to them in your arms.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Sonnet, Summer, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think?

