Evening Sonnet

I try, as do we all, I think, to add
My bit of beauty to the world I know-
A well turned phrase, a pleasure that I’ve had,
A fine-wrought image I can share to show
We all have something worth another’s time
To give regardless of our age or skill,
And working thus, we add a bit of shine
To each day’s light-we hope we always will.
But here’s a shock: those little nudging gestures
One feels at varied times push one away
Eventually gather force by self-investure,
Returning shove for push as if to say:
You’re needed here no longer-you can go now;
We do things differently, and you don’t know how.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Sonnet, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think?

