Ditty for a Brief Farewell

There’s a buzzing in the basement.
There’s a buzzing in my head.
There’s a buzzing I hear everywhere
Unless I’m safe in bed,
And even sometimes upstairs with
My head under the covers,
I buzz-or it does-until sleep
Finds me and the buzz smothers.

There’s irony in that the buzzing
Comes from too much light
Of digital environments
I keep within my sight.
It’s here I write, it’s here I read,
It’s here I hear the voice
Of other writers, others who
Make poetry their choice.

Though we all daily gather here
To craft and discipline,
That buzzing’s too connected to
The milieu that we’re in.
The fick’ring light, the quiet hum,
The billion other sites
Whose siren song draws us away
From more careful rewrites-

The link between the social side
Of WordPress and at least
My own distracted wanderings-
My writing, which has ceased-
Has now shown me with clarity
This isn’t the venue
For focusing the songs I sing
On what, for me, is true.

For a little while at least,
I should take my leave,
Try to find again what’s right
For me-what I believe.
If that means I sing to silence
Never to be read,
Still one man will hear me sing,
So I’ll still be well-read.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Songs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ditty for a Brief Farewell

  1. toraprincess says:

    I am not big on poetry and I don’t read everything you write. Somehow you did draw me in. I have my favorites of yours. Take care. 🙂

So what do you think?

