Why Write?

I am 62. My husband, the center of my universe, is soon to be 73. Statistically, I will have to spend some part of the end of my life without him. I would prefer to go out with him, but if that doesn’t work out for us, I will have a large collection of poems–some good, some mediocre, a few outright bad–to read and remember the incredible good fortune I have now to live with the person I love and respect most in the world.

My poems are my personal history of a long third marriage that has made all the bad years of the first two worthwhile. That is why I write.

What about you?

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in love, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why Write?

  1. Tony Single says:

    Now, that is a truly wonderful thing. I feel privileged to have read that, and inspired. Congratulations, both of you, and I hope you have many more years together!

    As for me, I think writing (and drawing) is my way of interacting with the world. I’m quite socially inept, so relating with people face-to-face has always been a challenge. If I didn’t write (and draw) then I’d just be a passive observer. Oh, hang on… I am still quite passive. I just undid my own point. Gah! 😛

  2. yeoldefoole says:

    Poetry was the doorman who showed me the way from my bomb-shelter skull to my shattered heart.

  3. Noora says:

    Unconditional love truly shines through your poetry. It’s inspiring. I’m glad you found your “happy ending”. Much love to both of you.

So what do you think?

