Song of a Long-Time Wife (sonnet)

I long for you as does long night for day
When sunlight creeps into the sky at last;
Just as fresh lilies scent new air at dawn,
So does your presence chase away the past.
Your clarity of mind, your wit, your smile,
Those lovely creases laughter generates–
All these are gifts you’ve given for so long,
I smile myself as I anticipate.
Once satisfied with seeing you again,
I know there’s even more to follow on:
Your touch that fits my skin like nothing else,
Your voice that sounds each phrase as if in song.
No one deserves this happiness in life;
It’s simple grace and pure to be your wife.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in joy, love, Poetry, Songs, Sonnet. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Song of a Long-Time Wife (sonnet)

  1. Noora says:

    “I long for you as does long night for day
    When sunlight creeps into the sky at last;
    Just as fresh lilies scent new air at dawn,
    So does your presence chase away the past.”

    applause!
    To be honest, I could quote the whole sonnet.
    This is beautiful. Unconditional love at its finest.

So what do you think?

