Necessary

You cover me,
a second skin
more natural than the first:
darts and fears may bruise
but never leave lasting marks.

Have you so grown over me now
that if you hurry on ahead
we will stay connected
if even by an ever-thinning web
of skin cells and love?

I breathe through this skin now:
I have become amphibian
leaping into water as freely
as I leap through clear air
always into your arms.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Free verse, love, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think?

