Catching Up

This bright-painted, winged day flies
faster than my eyes can follow
as I swim in these slow circles–

I reach for the hour to hold
but my hand grasps only shadows
the next hour already half gone.

Is this how the end will be
racing slowly to catch the present
when the final moment has gone?

And coming out the other side
will we have the gift of sight
able to be in time all time?

Then I choose these shining days
I will turn toward the Sun
and sing love to the Moon.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Birds and Other Joys, Free verse, joy, love, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Catching Up

  1. I love this bit – ‘Is this how the end will be
    racing slowly to catch the present
    when the final moment has gone?’ Lovely!

  2. Noora says:

    It’s always a pleasure to read your work, Jane. Hope all is good!

So what do you think?

