Promise

I love you as earth loves the sun,
laying herself open with joy
to meet every season
with its own fruit.

I love you as the beach loves the sea,
shush-purring to wavestrokes
that leave a little behind
with every touch.

I love you as the night-rabbit loves the moon,
following its silver light
that shows her the way
to her home under the stairs.

I love you as the tulip loves the sun,
closing in its dark absence
to open again in the dawn
of its warm return.

I love you as the sunflower loves the light,
turning always to the touch
feeding on its energy
to become ever more itself.

With the earth
with the beach
with the night-rabbit
the tulip and sunflower
I sing, but my song
is all and always for you.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Birds and Other Joys, Free verse, Gardening, joy, love, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think?