Commitment (sonnet)

Come look out the window with me, Love
See the gentle rain from far above.
Tenuous, it coats the grass and pavement
Icy but soft spiders’ filament.
Come with me to gather so much in
That you and I can build a web, can spin
A bridge between that space in you where beats
My heart and where in me yours lives, complete.
Feather-soft, then, fibers thin and strong
Let our two hearts hear each other’s songs,
Send this power that saved both our lives
Humming through like twice ten thousand hives.
So may we, when it’s time to contemplate
What may come next, still never separate.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in joy, love, Philosophy, Poetry, Sonnet, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Commitment (sonnet)

  1. cote8050 says:

    so lovely, your love together encourages me to know that it is possible, i won’t give up! love and peace to you my friend. Michelle

So what do you think?

