Longing for Spring

Golden light of hemispheric haloes,
Lie to me today!
Tall grown spikes of garlic, daffodils,
Tell me Springish stories!
Mud covered earth patches, scent of soil,
Sing me songs of germination!

For I am Winter-weak with longing
For sun on my skin.
For I am full of Winter dust and shadows
Turning to Summer dreams.
For I am stuffed full of Life
And need to grow!

If only twenty Springs are left to me,
I need to feel them all.
Winter comes soon again and sooner,
With long teeth and stopped breath.
I will push out this sun in my belly
And burn away the ice.

Only for today, I will stare into the sun,
Meet his gaze as does the Moon.
Spinning and shining, I release the greenness
Of what beats in me
Until these fingers sprout to branches
These feet to roots.

If Spring hesitates to come to me, then,
I will become her second self.
I will bloom with the crocus, fast,
And fall with her.
I will turn to good soil and return
In the next hot season, free.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Free verse, Gardening, joy, love, Poetry, Spring, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Longing for Spring

  1. Nomzi Kumalo says:

    I love how urgency and vitality collide here. My favourite of your poems by far. Delicious. I love it Jane. šŸ™‚

So what do you think?

