You Are Not

You are not perfectly formed:
Your imperfections catch my heart
As the facets of a diamond catch light.

You are not perfectly strong:
Your weaknesses feed my love of you
As the soil web feeds the rose.

You are not perfectly good:
Your flaws give me leave to love you
And emulate, not fear you.

All that you are not
Makes you perfect in my eyes:
My heart, my hands, my mouth-
All and all my mind are yours.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Control and Compliance, Free verse, joy, love, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You Are Not

  1. colinandray says:

    It was a pleasure to read a piece that stresses imperfections…. and how perfectly unique they make us! 🙂

    • janemwoodman says:

      Thanks for this. One of the many things I admire about my husband is that being an excellent human being comes no more naturally to him than it does to any of us. It’s the decisions and thoughtful behavior that have made him who he is.

      • colinandray says:

        Hang on to him!
        I have told my kids many times “I will expect perfection from you, as soon as I can set the example. You’re quite safe!” Sadly our culture deludes us into thinking that displaying our imperfections is a weakness when, in reality, it is a strength. Denial is the weakness!

So what do you think?

