Love Letter

I’ve lived long inside
the deep, warm red walls
protecting me and us,
sending us both to the world,
often as our best selves.

They look strong,
complete and solid,
even to me sometimes.

But I also know
the tiny tender seed
at the center
where every soft reply,
every sadness of your child,
every rebuffed kindness
every hurt creature
injures the sweet spirit
I love beyond breath.

Your strength is precious,
born in your heart
open to callous words
that might hide this one’s hurt,
that one’s poverty of spirit,
the other’s fear or pain-
heavier to you than your own.

You are the hero
of my life:
imperfect and shining
in more beauties
than I can make you see.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Free verse, joy, love, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think?

