Thank You (a sonnet of appreciation for my readers here after a rough few days)

a cloud of nothingness blew in last week
i disappeared beneath its humid mass
surprising in its sharpness, i released
my solid ground, felt each step a trespass.
invisibility took half my words
and muffled what was left in me to sing;
withdrawing seemed the best course open then
if i were to avoid all further stings.
But two most human touches oddly one
Restored to me the strength to sing my songs:
First and most close, my Papabear heard all
My griefs and bore them with me all along.
But most peculiar was the restoration
Of my voice through distant appreciation.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Sonnet, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thank You (a sonnet of appreciation for my readers here after a rough few days)

  1. I’m sorry you had a hard week. 😦 Sending lots of warm hugs and comforting thoughts your way. 🙂

  2. InfiniteZip says:

    We all have those times when walking a bit away from the keyboard and just being restores the soul, and words from friends are especially helpful too, peace and love and more mud on tap today😊 As the rain washes the snow away💦❄️ Peace and love, Kim🌹

So what do you think?

