Ice

image

Ice hangs heavy here
competes with starlight
blinds us to the sun
whose rising reflects
our constant movement.

Nothing pleases me
not these sparkling lights
nor plans for gardens
too far from me now
to expand my heart.

Only this turning
inward to your eyes
makes Spring real again
draws my roots down deep
where my home is real.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Free verse, Poetry, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ice

  1. Heartafire says:

    this is beautiful!

So what do you think?

