In Praise of Weakness

“Don’t start thinking, or you’ll burn the toast!”
I tell myself each morning as I start
Another day in which I have the most
Protected space to live in: your big heart.
I lived a scrambled, baseless life before you,
Hurting myself and others, which is worse;
But since you came, my life’s been one that makes
“I hope you get what you deserve” a curse!
Instead of my deserving now I have this
Sweet calm to understand my history,
The freedom to examine what was missing,
The bonds that hold me tight and set me free.
If weakness is what brought me thus to you,
Then strength and its admirers I’ll eschew.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Control and Compliance, joy, Patience, Poetry, Sonnet. Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think?

