Change (sonnet)

Such happy failure of the heart and mind
Can lead us to persist in looking for
The right road on which we eventually find
A true home where we can live evermore.
Such losses we can mourn with silent tears,
Forgetting that an empty hand can hold
Fresh gifts with which what’s lost would interfere,
Or we can seek bright days and be consoled.
Nothing dies if it was meant to be,
But all things that have life in them must change;
So looking for connective threads, we see
How our old dreams still live, though rearranged.
Thus false starts transform into pathways true
Just as the road I wandered led to you.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Philosophy, Poetry, Sonnet. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Change (sonnet)

  1. cote8050 says:

    Wow, this is so beautiful, love the last lines, as always… I’m a big last line kind of person, love how they pull it all together at the end… my peace and love to you… Michelle

    • janemwoodman says:

      Hi Michelle. I was actually thinking of you, among others, as I wrote this.

      • cote8050 says:

        this is very powerful… I am keeping my heart open I am more determined than ever to be open and welcome in the right man when I meet him and not turn him away because of the last idiot I loved…. thank you for your continued words of love and hope, you are an amazing woman and writer! Michelle

  2. glynfedwards says:

    This is a very accomplished poem – gentle and patient.

So what do you think?

