Going Beyond (sonnet)

Your face and body known to me as well
As are my own, this quarter century
And more now that we’ve intertwined our lives,
Set free from solitude’s penitentiary.
But still you are a stranger to me when
You turn in silent thought away from me;
It’s then I most desire to follow you
Along those paths, to see what you then see.
Yet even more a mystery there is
In how your touch conveys what’s in your mind;
What is the paralytic that you bear
That stills my thoughts and keeps us intertwined?
This intersection of the mind and hand
Sparks hotter flames than sex has ever fanned.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Sonnet and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think?

