For My Muslim Sisters and Brothers

My country…no, OUR country shames me now
With such great lack of love or even fairness;
Infection runs far deeper than I knew,
So in the face of all that, now I swear this:
If I should ever hear those hateful words
That soil the very air it takes to say them,
I promise now to use my voice to fight
Repulsive ignorance and mental mayhem.
If standing with my sisters and my brothers
Against those fearful brutes who lack clear vision,
If speaking up for love and against hatred
Creates around me coldness or division,
It won’t be for the first time or the last;
Let’s stand together until this is past.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Sonnet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think?

