Sweet Home Sonnet

On Summer days when I was young and free,
I lay in grassy fields and breathed in words.
I never noticed you were there with me,
Not any more than I observed the birds.
When soon in time I learned what I was taught:
I had no proper voice to speak or sing,
Nor substance to inform my words, and not
My own heart’s feelings; in short, not a thing.
Without an inward map, I wandered far
From any path with purpose or intent,
But still a hope-of what?-an unseen star
To follow without knowing what it meant.
That star, that hope, that comfort-place was you,
All good I’d never known, but now I do.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet Home Sonnet

  1. yeoldefoole says:

    so relaxed and easy! wonderful!!!

So what do you think?

