Finding a Voice

I wasn’t born without a voice, you know;
I once had joy and anger, song and more.
In fact, it took them many years to show
Me how to stuff them to a tiny core.
Those silenced voices claimed my peace and sight;
Their poisoned song still murmured deep below.
Confusion and a struggle for the light
Shaped all those years, a dark adagio.
Then unaware of how lost I’d become,
I stumbled onto loving means of grace,
All expectations and all hope of home
Became fulfilled the day I saw your face.
My voice, in words, in song, you resurrected;
You welcomed all that had been long rejected.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think?

