Fall Morning Meditation

Silence of Fall:
Morning hush
Covered in dew

I lie face down in wet grass
Feel the roots grow from fingers and toes
Reach far down into dry soil

Iridescent worms welcome me
Twine around my hands and feet with love
Feel my heart beat with theirs

Even the bees are quieted
Drawn by the lavender they nest in my hair
Humming in my scalp’s warmth

Most of the flowers are at rest
Sending their power to the seeds of Spring
I feel their electric dirges

A chipmunk shouts into my ear
Three juncoes fan my face with their wings
Two dogs nestle at my waist

We all breathe one breath
Then exhale a million streams of light
Into the rising sun.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fall Morning Meditation

  1. Noora says:

    I have missed reading your wonderful poetry, Jane! Hope all is good with you.

So what do you think?

