Fallow Time (free verse)

Clouds of words rise.
Flocks of gibbering sparrows
Fly away before I can snatch them
Shape them into thought-muffins
For my lover to eat
With his morning coffee.

I am bereft.
No shapely sounds engage my ear;
My eyes see too much, too many.
All things raise dust before me,
Hiding the light
From my words.

Is it lost?
That fingertip with which I feel
My own pulse and know my life–
The carpenter’s toolbox
That builds all these bridges–
I can’t find it here in the dark hollow.

Forgive me.
Cherish the fallow field,
The mute swan in her silent vee
As she treads the water,
The voiceless shimmer
Of the necessary earthworm.

Wait with me.
I am powerless to initiate
Those screaming moments
That will tear me open,
Expose my dissected brain
And heart for you to eat.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think?

