Transformation (sonnet)

So many years I wondered why my choices
Had led me into many hellish places –
So hungry for acceptance, friendly voices,
I’d give what I had to the falsest faces.
Then finally by good grace or by chance,
I fell into your sphere and had to learn
That love could be a sweet and mutual dance,
Not a dark fire in which I had to burn.
You spent long years in teaching me to trust,
To laugh, to know that even I could be
Still loved when angry, weary or in pain –
So life is sweet and peaceful, my mind free.
You created this, my transformation,
Made loving space for my self-education.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Transformation (sonnet)

  1. cote8050 says:

    So beautiful, I love how you describe your love! gives me hope that I may still find that. Really love the man in my life but I know he doesn’t feel the same, very depressing… I am glad for you!! much love and peace to your both, as always! Michelle

    • janemwoodman says:

      Sweetie, your choices belong only to you, but I’ll say just this: I did not, could not receive what I have now until I’d emptied my hands of the half-light I had before. It requires a blind jump.

      • cote8050 says:

        I think I’m ready to jump, just don’t know in which direction and the choices are getting fewer and fewer! Thank you for your wonderful words of encouragement, you are a very special lady, no wonder your man loves you so!! 🙂

So what do you think?

