Getting What We Don’t Deserve

This impossible beauty
You’ve dropped me in–
It’s more than I hoped for,
Never thinking I should have so much.

From the tiny daisies
Sprouting up in the grass
To the intentional iris,
To the generous peonies,
Your hand made them happen.

Much happens here
I didn’t intend:
The lilies spread,
Lettuces and ruby streak mustard
Spring fresh every year
Without my help.

Lavender and purple and blue,
Greens of every kind,
Coral and pink as baby’s cheeks–
It all grows more beautiful
More impossible every year
As I, helpless, watch and wonder
What deserving has to do with anything.

If life were shaped by deserving,
I would never have seen the oriole
Traveling through on its way to elsewhere,
Nor the tiny wren building for her future,
Nor the hummingbird that hovered,
Drawn by your red shirt last evening,
Nor even you on that barstool
Where I should never have found happiness.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting What We Don’t Deserve

  1. Laughing Dragon says:

    This one made me whistle. Awesome stuff.

So what do you think?

