For All the Unread Poets Who Sometimes Wonder Why They Write

image

Potato Vine keeps secrets from us all;
She shares them only if we wait till Fall.
Then, when she dies, her treasure is revealed
That until then she hid in soil’s seal.
The longer we must wait, the richer grows
What lies beneath – then in the light it shows
How much the Vine produced in her short life
Before she fell, cut down by age’s knife.
Once she is gone and needs no roots or leaves
That during life for fruitlessness deceive,
Digging just a bit, we find such treasure
That in her warmer days we could not measure.
And so, dear Unread Poets, don’t despair;
Your hearts may live when you’re free from life’s snare.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to For All the Unread Poets Who Sometimes Wonder Why They Write

  1. Laughing Dragon says:

    This is beautiful.

  2. Laughing Dragon says:

    What do you mean?

    • janemwoodman says:

      When I go to it from your name, it says it’s no longer available and has been deleted by its authors. This scares me. I need to copy my stuff into my own word files!

      • Laughing Dragon says:

        I actually have folders of this stuff and sift through it to revise and find a good edit. Its all in google. Then backed up on my hard drive.

        I see my site fine. I even went to comfy poet.com.
        All myu other ones too…

        (PLUGGING IT)

        comfytime.org
        comfythought.com
        comfypoet.com

So what do you think?

