The Best We Can (Sonnet)

Who will you become, my tiny boy?–
Not mine, that’s true, but just one step removed.
I see his smile, his hair, his one-time cheek,
Mixed with her lovely face, their strong love proved.
If every fault of mine as parent-past
I could erase by watching over you,
I’d live under the stairs in far-off France
And they’d no longer need their own nounou!
But weak as I could be at times, my son
Has demonstrated by his strength and growth
Forgiveness clearly manifested in
His strength to love your mother and you both.
So may you also take the best they give
And any small false steps they take, forgive.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best We Can (Sonnet)

So what do you think?

