Chorus of the Nondescript

What the Crow Said:

I am every dark thought
you ever learned to see
was the shining Jewel
of possibility –
I live longer than you think.

What the Wren Said:

I am the small one
no one can see
until I sing
throwing love into the wind –
My song lights the lilies.

What the Starling Said:

I am the spotted one
voice like a rusted chain
falling in crowds
to clean your garden–
I battle destruction.

What the Sparrow Said:

I am the invisible one
working in great numbers
in gardens and parking lots
in every bright corner–
I save you from yourselves.

We are legion.
We live with you unseen –
On your periphery.
Without us, you die,
Buried in insect life
And your own sadness.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think?

