I Wasted the Day

I wasted the day.

Watching sparrows carry grassy insects to their young
Digging idly in the cool soil for worms
Touching their iridescence in the sun
Feeling their panic, replacing them into the darkness
Remembering your hands in my darkness

Hearing your voice again, furry and low in my ear
Breathing in a dream of your fingers on my face, my body
Sucking breath and life again from the sun at your center
Reliving the race around that sun you took me on
Speeding in a trajectory higher, faster than possible
Plunging back to quiet, daily Earth at noon

Catching my breath in time to see a sparrow watching me.

I wasted the day.

(From a pseudonymous collection)

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Wasted the Day

  1. cote8050 says:

    Ah such a lovely waste, this was brilliant!! “remembering your hands in my darkness” is such an amazing line, you are the best!! Michelle

  2. janemwoodman says:

    That is very kind, as usual. Thank you.

  3. Noora says:

    What a wonderful way to waste the day!

So what do you think?

