Sea Sonnet

When I was young, I dove into the sea
And swiftly learned which one of us was strong:
As rolling, breaking waves took hold of me
And tumbling, held me close for far too long.
In growing years, the tides became my teacher:
I learned how all things change but nothing dies,
How different life could look seen through salt water,
How water turns to fire at sunrise.
These days the ocean waves at me through rain,
Its children that arise in heat and sun
That quickly seep away into the soil
Or, falling on the asphalt, quickly run.
The sea that moves inside my mind and veins
Still promises a home each time it rains.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sea Sonnet

  1. cote8050 says:

    Wow, that is fabulous!! very nice indeed… Namaste my friend, Michelle

  2. Noora says:

    I decided to take a day off from working/editing, and that WAS a great plan. Just enjoying some beautiful poetry with my afternoon coffee. I loved the sonnet, Jane!

So what do you think?

