Moon Sonnet

Though I have long been called th’inconstant one,
The orb that varies nightly, circling dark,
Doubt not my journey follows Thee, my Sun,
And that the light I send is from Thy spark.
I hide my face at times from Thy great light
Or so it seems when some great shadow falls;
But then Thy pull commands me back to sight;
From Thy command, my Sun, no shade enthralls.
My crater’d face must show itself to thee
Whene’er Thou please, wherever Thou dost say,
Crater’d yes, but glowing so to see
Thy light again that turns all night to day.
Through ev’ry night I turn me back to Thee,
Reflected light and silver radiance be!

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Moon Sonnet

  1. cote8050 says:

    Wow, that was lovely, well done!

  2. janemwoodman says:

    Thanks, Sweetie. It’so actually from a book I wrote under a psuedonym. I sometimes choose one of the milder, more G-rated pieces to share here. But I do love sonnets! So restrictive!

So what do you think?

