Voices

I found my voice at forty
Under a pile of indifference
Gentle hands led it into the air

Being heard frightened me
But I sang anyway
Trying always to be
Good Enough

At sixty
My world filled with light
With morning birdsong
My voice sings
In every key:

In rough brown soil
In air full of sound
In words to make it all
Into colored spheres of light
We can turn in our hands
And remember

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Voices

  1. cote8050 says:

    This is such a lovely poem. At 60 I have finally found myself and my love, I have waited so long but am finally home. Thank you for this.

    Michelle

    • janemwoodman says:

      Thank YOU, Sweetie. I have been concerned because of some of the things you’ve written. I am glad to know they don’t reflect your current reality.

      • cote8050 says:

        I had a heartbreaking ending to a relationship, obvious from my poetry, but am feeling better and loved again by best friends and others, especially the new friends I have made here, so am on the upbeat…. thank you for your concern! you are wonderful person and writer! I love your positive spirit
        Michelle

  2. yeoldefoole says:

    “I found my voice at forty” – this is breathtakingly lovely.

  3. janemwoodman says:

    Thank you very much. I hope everything is going well. John LOVED the PBL.

So what do you think?

