Old Woman’s Promise

This night is young, but I am not,
So I go now to bed.
But I’ll be long awake before
You lift your sweet young head.

I once believed the night belonged
To me and my young friends.
Now I am old and know the fruits
Of night’s long other end.

Before the dawn I’ll be awake
With mind and eye both clear;
And so to work and words I’ll go,
My mind kicked into gear.

My younger days were spent in talk,
In drinking and in laughter,
And thus I wasted night’s best hours
In day’s worst mornings after.

Too soon so old? Too late so smart?
I would not say it’s so.
Instead I love this later fire
More than I could have known.

So as I watch this youth-adoring
Culture lose its mind,
I know there’s hope because peace hides
In age for them to find.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Old Woman’s Promise

  1. cote8050 says:

    oh my goodness. this is such a wonderful piece or writing!! I love it and it is so very true. I am older now and love my early mornings, I’m up usually before 4:00 and spend hours before work in meditation and writing and walking as soon as it is light enough outside, it is the best time of day but I didn’t know that until I got older… if only the young ones would listen to us, would save so much time 🙂 Thanks for this post, much loved. Michelle

So what do you think?

