Seed Starting Song

image

In March we look with bleary eyes
On icicles and cold gray skies.
It’s only pretty for so long;
I’ve tired of singing Winter’s song.

My garden tools lie covered in
Dust where I flung them in the bin,
Exhausted by last Fall’s last chore,
I wanted rest, to do no more.

But now, with different tiredness,
I hang about, almost depressed.
The muscles’ ache, the sunburnt skin,
I long for dirt streaks on my chin.

Enough of dust and stuffy air –
I want to spend my days out there!
Where titmice sing and earthworms roam
I find my right and proper home.

I lack the patience that I need,
So I’ve already planted seed
Of peppers, chard, tomatoes and
Whatever else I had to hand.

They’re germinating now and so
Let snow banks melt and warm winds blow
To melt the snow and ice, and then
The greener life will come again.

Enough of dust and stuffy air –
I want to spend my days out there!
Where titmice sing and earthworms roam
I find my right and proper home.

About janemwoodman

Singer, writer, restaurant reviewer, urban farmer, devoted lover of my husband....old and getting happier all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think?

